osCommerce – An Efficient E-Commerce Solution

osCommerce ranks amongst the most popular and well-known shop systems in German-speaking countries.

The osCommerce open source solution, including its source code, can be expanded and adapted to suite individual needs. There are over 7,000 add-ons which can be used to individualise the shop. The solution was originally developed for the American market but in the meantime a bundle has become available for the German-speaking market.

The Open Source solution has a simple programme structure which contains all of the important features. This means the shop can be set up quickly and easily. There are no specific requirements for the hardware. 

Layout and design can be individualised to a limited extent. However, templates for expansion can be bought on various online platforms . They are easy to install. A separate tool for search engine optimisation is not available.

In short
osCommerce is used by many shop owners across the world and has developed into a very popular solution since its creation. The most important features are integrated, but the design and layout leave room for improvement. Thanks to the Wirecard Shop Plugin, the integration of a Wirecard CEE payment solution is quick and easy.

In brief

  • Advantages
    • Unlimited number of products / categories
    • Adaptable payment and delivery options
    • Different currencies
    • Free Wirecard Shop Plugin for osCommerce

  • Disadvantages
    • The system must be adapted to the German market
    • Limited opportunities regarding adaption of layout
    • No integrated tool for search engine optimisation

  • Factsheet

    We will be presenting a shop system in each issue of our customer magazine Wirecard CEE News.

    You can find the article about osCommerce on page 10:

    >>> Wirecard CEE News 2/2017

  • Integration "Wirecard Shop Plugin"

    Thanks to the Wirecard Shop Plugin, the integration of a Wirecard CEE payment solution is quick and easy.

    Advantages:

    Consult our Online Guides for more information and integration details.

osCommerce – Die leistungsfähige E-Commerce Lösung

osCommerce zählt zu den bekanntesten und populärsten Shop-Systemen im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Die osCommerce Open-Source-Lösung kann beliebig erweitert und an die individuellen Bedürfnisse angepasst werden, ohne den Hersteller miteinbeziehen zu müssen. Es gibt über 7.000 Add-On‘s, mit denen der Shop individualisiert werden kann. Ursprünglich wurde die Lösung für den amerikanischen Markt entworfen, mittlerweile ist jedoch auch für den deutschsprachigen Markt ein Bundle verfügbar.

Die Open-Source Lösung besitzt eine simple Programmstruktur, in der alle wichtigen Features enthalten sind. Somit kann der Shop schnell und einfach aufgesetzt werden. An die Hardware gibt es keine besonderen Anforderungen. Der Shop bleibt auch bei der Integration von vielen Produkten schnell. Das ist vor allem für mittlere und größere Onlineshops ein Pluspunkt.

Layout und Design lassen sich nur begrenzt individualisieren. Auf verschiedenen Online Plattformen werden jedoch Templates kostenpflichtig zur Erweiterung angeboten. Diese lassen sich unkompliziert installieren. Ein eigenes Tool für Suchmaschinenoptimierung ist leider nicht verfügbar.

Fazit
osCommerce wird weltweit von vielen Shop-Betreibern eingesetzt und hat sich seit seinem Start zu einer sehr beliebten Lösung entwickelt. Die wichtigsten Features sind integriert, leider müssen bei Design und Layout Abstriche gemacht werden. Die Integration der Wirecard CEE Bezahllösung ist, dank des Wirecard Shop Plugins, schnell und unkompliziert möglich.

Facts zu osCommerce

  • Vorteile
    • Unlimitierte Anzahl von Produkten / Kategorien
    • Anpassbare Zahlungs- und Versandoptionen
    • Verschiedene Währungen
    • Kostenloses Wirecard Shop Plugin für osCommerce

  • Nachteile
    • Das System muss an den deutschen Markt angepasst werden
    • Begrenzte Möglichkeiten bzgl. Layoutanpassung
    • Kein Tool zur Suchmaschinenoptimierung integriert
  • Integration "Wirecard Shop Plugin"

    Die Integration der Wirecard CEE Bezahllösung ist, dank des Wirecard Shop Plugins, schnell und unkompliziert möglich. 

    Vorteile:

    Mehr Informationen zur Integration finden Sie in unseren Online Guides.