Spree Commerce – The Online Shop for developers

Shop system with high flexibility.

Spree Commerce is an open source shop system built on Ruby on Rails and hosted at GitHub. Spree is designed for professionals and developers who like to tinker with software. Developers with corresponding knowledge may customize the shop system to suit individual needs.

Spree Commerce is not yet strongly represented in German speaking countries. Therefore, the regulations applicable for these countries are not implemented in the basic version. Different extensions are available to address this issue. For example, the extension “Better Terms and Conditions” allows to add the check mark for accepting the General Terms and Conditions.

The free basic version includes standard functionalities such as catalog, shopping cart or data analysis reports which are necessary to adapt the shop perfectly to the consumers’ requirements. Spree Commerce convinces with both - well-defined structure and responsive design. In addition, tools for Search Engine Optimization (SEO) can be implemented. The community has translated Spree into more than 30 languages – start expanding your business now!

With Solidus, also based on Ruby on Rails, another open source e-commerce solution has become available. Solidus is not a completely new solution but a fork of Spree Commerce.

In short
Spree Commerce is no shop system for beginners but is aimed at developers or merchants working together with experienced developers.
Thanks to the Wirecard Shop Plugin, the integration of a Wirecard CEE payment solution is quick and easy.

In brief

  • Advantages
    • Customization possibilities
    • Free shop system
    • Free Wirecard Shop Plugin for Spree Commerce

  • Disadvantages
    • Aimed at developers
    • No ready-made solutions available

     

     

  • Integration "Wirecard Shop Plugin"

    Thanks to the Wirecard Shop Plugin, the integration of a Wirecard CEE payment solution is quick and easy.

    Advantages:

    Consult our Online Guides for more information and integration details.

Spree Commerce – Der Onlineshop für Techniker

Das Shopsystem mit hoher Flexibilität.

Spree Commerce ist ein Open Source Shopsystem, welches auf dem Webframework Ruby on Rails basiert und bei GitHub gehostet wird. Es richtet sich an technisch versierte Personen oder Entwickler, die selbst gerne basteln. Mit entsprechenden Kenntnissen lässt sich das Shopsystem auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse optimal anpassen.

Das Shopsystem ist derzeit im deutschsprachigen Raum noch nicht stark vertreten. Aus diesem Grund sind die für dieses Gebiet geltenden Richtlinien für Onlineshops nicht in der Basis-Version enthalten. Dies kann jedoch mit verschiedenen Extensions behoben werden. Über die Erweiterung „Better Terms and Conditions“ lässt sich auch das Häkchen zur Akzeptanz der AGBs hinzufügen.

In der kostenlosen Basisversion findet man Standardfunktionen wie einen Katalog, Warenkorb oder Berichte zur Datenanalyse. Es bietet alle nötigen Grundlagen, um dem Shop optimal aufzubereiten. Neben der klaren Struktur überzeugt zudem das responsive Design. Die Software verfügt ebenso über ein Tool für die Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO). Einer Expansion steht ebenso nichts im Wege, denn die Community hat Spree Commerce bereits in über 30 Sprachen übersetzt.

Ebenso basierend auf Ruby on Rails ist aktuell bereits eine weitere Open Source E-Commerce Lösung verfügbar – Solidus. Die Plattform stammt ebenso aus der Spree Entwicklung, stellt keine völlig neue Lösung dar sondern ist ein Ableger davon. 

Fazit
Spree Commerce ist kein Onlineshop für Einsteiger, da Entwicklerkenntnisse notwendig sind. Die Software richtet sich an erfahrene Nutzer und an jene die bereits mit Entwicklern zusammenarbeiten.
Die Integration der Wirecard CEE Bezahllösung ist, dank des Wirecard Shop Plugins, schnell und unkompliziert möglich. 

Facts zu Spree Commerce

  • Vorteile
    • Individuell anpassbar
    • Kostenfreies Shopsystem
    • Kostenloses Wirecard Shop Plugin für Spree Commerce

     

  • Nachteile
    • Entwickler-Kenntnisse sind notwendig
    • Keine fertigen Lösungen

  • Integration "Wirecard Shop Plugin"

    Die Integration der Wirecard CEE Bezahllösung ist, dank des Wirecard Shop Plugins, schnell und unkompliziert möglich. 

    Vorteile:

    Mehr Informationen zur Integration finden Sie in unseren Online Guides.